Public Holidays in Spain 2020

Ashkan Ahmadi

Public Holidays in Barcelona in 2021

There are plenty of local, regional and national public holidays in Spain. Knowing the public holidays is important especially if you are a planner.

There are three types of holidays in Barcelona:

  • National holidays where it’s a holiday everywhere in Spain (NAT)
  • Regional holidays where it’s a holiday in a particular region or community (CAT in the case of Catalunya)
  • Local holidays where it’s a holiday only in one region or city (BCN for Barcelona)

Here you have all the 14 holidays in the city of Barcelona:

  • Friday, 1 January – New Years’s Day (NAT)
  • Wednesday, 6 January – Epiphany / Three Kings’ Day (NAT)
  • Friday, 02 April – Good Friday (NAT)
  • Monday, 05 April – Easter Monday (CAT)
  • Saturday, 1 May – Labor Day (NAT)
  • Monday, 24 May – Whit Monday / Pentecost Monday (BCN)
  • Thursday, 24 June – Midsummer’s Day / St John’s Day (CAT)
  • Saturday, 11 September – Catalan National Day (CAT)
  • Friday, 24 September – La Mercè (BCN)
  • Tuesday, 12 October – Spanish National Holiday (NAT)
  • Monday, 01 November – All Saints’ Day (NAT)
  • Monday, 6 December – Spanish Constitution Day (NAT)
  • Wednesday, 8 December – Feast of the Assumption (NAT)
  • Saturday, 25 December – Christmas (NAT)

Now that you know the holidays, you can plan accordingly.

Source: Ajuntament Barcelona

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 5 / 5. Vote count: 13

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

As you found this post useful...

Follow us on social media!

We are sorry that this post was not useful for you!

Let us improve this post!

Tell us how we can improve this post?

Are you a student?

Download the Studentfy mobile app to get access to our student discounts, trips, events and services like health insurance and legal assistance.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Studentfy is the largest student association in Barcelona. We offer the best deals, products and services to the international student community in Barcelona.

Studentfy mobile app

Log In

Log in using your Studentfy.com account. This account is different than your Studentfy App account.